## **Ten-Point Agreement of 19 May 1979**

- 1. It was agreed to resume the intercommunal talks on 15 June 1979.
- 2. The basis for the talks will be the Makarios-Denktaş guidelines of 12 February 1977 and the United Nations resolutions relevant to the Cyprus question.
- 3. There should be respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms of all citizens of the Republic.
- 4. The Talks will deal with all territorial and constitutional aspects.
- 5. Priority will be given to reaching agreement on the resettlement of Varosha under United Nations auspices simultaneously with the beginning of the consideration by the interlocutors of the constitutional and territorial aspects of a comprehensive settlement. After agreement on Varosha has been reached, it will be implemented without awaiting the outcome of the discussion on other aspects of the Cyprus problem.
- 6. It was agreed to abstain from any action which might jeopardize the outcome of the talks, and special importance will be given to initial practical measures by both sides to promote good will, mutual confidence and the return to normal conditions.
- 7. The demilitarization of the Republic of Cyprus is envisaged, and matters relating thereto will be discussed.
- 8. The independence, sovereignty, territorial integrity and non-alignment of the Republic should be adequately guaranteed against union in whole or in part with any other country and against any form of partition or secession.
- 9. The intercommunal talks will be carried out in a continuing and sustained manner, avoiding any delay.
- 10. The intercommunal talks will take place in Nicosia.